13TH MAY, 2019


The National Identification Authority (NIA) wishes to inform the general public that some selected registration centres within the Accra West area will be relocated to new registration centres within a one-kilometer radius. This is to enable the NIA register eligible applicants residing far away from the current registration centres.

Please find below the list of Municipalities where registration centres will be affected by the relocation:

  1. Ablekuma Central – 4 Centres
  2. Okaikwei South – 11 Centres
  3. Okaikwei North – 22 Centres
  4. Ashiedu Keteke – 4 Centres
  5. Ablekuma West – 2 Centres
  6. Ga North – 12 Centres
  7. Okaikwei Central – 7 Centres
  8. Ga South (Bortianor) – 5 Centres
  9. Ga Central – 9 Centres
  10. Ablekuma South – 8 Centres
  11. Ablekuma North – 8 Centres
  12. Ga West – 13 Centres
  13. Ga South (Obom) – 7 Centres

The new centres will commence registration from tomorrow Tuesday 14th May 2019 and end on the Saturday 25th May 2019, same day as all other registration centres in the Accra West area. As indicated above, the new registration centres (115) will be set up in locations within a one-kilometer radius of the relocated centres.

Applicants who are yet to receive their Ghana Card and reside in communities where registration centres have been relocated will receive text messages and/or phone calls directing them to designated centres within their respective communities to collect their Cards.

The NIA would also like to apologize to some sections of the general public who went to our registration centres today Monday 13th May 2019 and were unable to register due to the absence of the registration officials.This was due to an internal miscommunication which affected some registration centres. We wish to assure members of the general public that all affected registration centres will be operational tomorrow Tuesday 14th May 2019.

We entreat the general public to continue registering for their Ghana Cards and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Issued by: Corporate Affairs Department,
National Identification Authority

Related Posts